If you’ve been accused of or arrested for Marijuana Possession in Kansas, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. You have nothing to lose by calling. I’ll give you some free advice either way. Call now, 888-439-4244.
Arrested for Marijuana Possession in Kansas?
Being caught with any amount of marijuana can be frightening. Just the process of being stopped by the police and arrested, or even just given a criminal summons to appear in court is a difficult experience. You may not know what you will be facing when you go before a judge.
Marijuana offenses are very common in Kansas courts. While that doesn’t make it any easier for you—it does mean I have plenty of experience dealing with possession charges like yours. I will fight for your charges to be dismissed, and keep your record clean. Call for a free consultation on your Kansas marijuana charges today.
While many states have decriminalized small marijuana possession charges, Kansas has not. Possession of marijuana is still a crime, not a “ticket” or infraction, but a crime that can go on your record if convicted, and potentially stay with you for life.
Kansas is hard on marijuana offenses because it considers marijuana a Schedule 1 drug. Schedule 1 is level of controlled substances is saved for the most serious of drugs. Drugs categorized within the Schedule 1 are considered to be highly addictive and dangerous, and are claimed to have no legitimate medicinal value.
And unlike many states, Kansas doesn’t classify the severity of the offense by the amount you are caught with. Any small amount of marijuana or pot, even a single roach, is a class A misdemeanor.
Possession of Marijuana in Kansas – Laws & Penalties
A first offense marijuana possession charge is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year in prison and $2,500 in fines.
Any further charges of possession may be elevated to a felony. You will face anywhere from 10- 42 months in prison and fines of up to $100,000.
ref: Kansas Marijuana Laws KSA 65-4101
Possession with Intent or Distribution of Marijuana – Laws & Penalties
If you are charged with selling marijuana or intending to sell marijuana, you are looking at some very serious potential outcomes. No matter the amount, if this is the charge, you are looking at a potential prison sentence of 14-51 months. That means you could be spending the next 4 years of your life behind bars and a lifetime with a felony record.
If you were caught within 1,000 feet of a school your potential sentence increases to 46-83 months. School does not have to be in session and no children have to be present to elevate the sentence to this level. And you can easily be within a school zone and not even know it.
Cultivation or Manufacturing Marijuana
Being caught in possession of more than 5 marijuana plants in a manufacturing environment, can lead to additional charges. Felony cultivation has a potential sentence of 138-204 months in prison.
Get Help with any Marijuana Charge in Kansas!
Marijuana charges may not seem serious to some because of their frequency. However, in Kansas, they are very serious. Common or not, there is nothing minor about a lengthy prison sentence. Many of these potential sentences can be served as probation.
As your attorney I would work to get you the best possible outcome on front of a Kansas judge. You want to place your future in the hands of someone capable and experienced. I am that attorney. I’ll let you know how I’ve handled other cases just like yours, and exactly what you can expect.
Call me today to discuss your case. (888) 439-4244
Attorney Mark Hagen