If you have been accused of or arrested for a Shoplifting or Stealing in Missouri, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. You have nothing to lose by calling. I’ll give you some free advice either way. Call now, 888-439-4244.
If you made a dumb mistake and got caught shoplifting, don’t beat yourself up. Anyone can make a bad decision, but that doesn’t mean you should be severely punished. But if the police of the store made a big mistake, and wrongly accused you, then we need to aggressively fight back to protect your rights!
Either way, I sympathize with what you’ve gone through, and I know I can help you. I have defended these charges many times and I’ve helped countless people just like yourself get their charges reduced or dismissed.
You may be asking yourself if you really need a criminal defense lawyer to handle a shoplifting charge. It’s really quite simple — a good defense lawyer who knows Missouri shoplifting laws backwards and forwards is critical to making sure that your legal and constitutional rights are protected, and that you get the best possible outcome of your case.
What is Shoplifting?
Shoplifting falls under the crime of Stealing in the State of Missouri. It is defined as:
One who “appropriates property or services of another with the purpose to deprive him or her thereof, either without his or her consent or by means of deceit or coercion.” Stealing can be a serious offense, especially when amounts stolen are combined as part of the same “criminal episode”, making the dollar value of the items and the penalties significantly higher.
The following examples qualify as stealing under Missouri Criminal Laws:
- to fail or refuse to pay for property or services such as a hotel, restaurant, or inn;
- to pay for such property or services above with a check or negotiable paper on which payment was refused;
- to leave such property with the intent to not pay for property or services;
- or, to removed or attempted to remove his or her baggage from such property;
- to cheat or defraud a retailer by altering a price or price tag;
What are the penalties for Stealing in Missouri?
A misdemeanor stealing charge can carry a penalty of from 1 day to 1 year in jail, and a fine of up to $1000.
- Stealing is a Class C Felony in Missouri if the value of the property or services are more that $500, but less that $25,000.
- If the item is valued at more than $25,000 it would be considered a Class B Felony under Missouri criminal law.
- If on a second offense, the item stolen is valued at more than $3000, then it would be a Class B Felony.
- If the item is valued at under $500, and isn’t an otherwise prohibited item (such as a firearm), then it would be considered a Class A Misdemeanor.
Felony stealing carries a penalty of potentially 1 to 7 years in jail and a fine of up to $5000.
Any third offense of a stealing criminal charge is considered at least a Class D felony.
If you’ve been arrested for Stealing, Shoplifting, theft, or Larceny in Missouri, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you. Take advantage of my free consultation to help yourself make an informed decision about how to get the best possible defense.