If you have been accused of or arrested for Passing or Writing a Bad Check in Missouri, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. You have nothing to lose by calling. I’ll give you some free advice either way. Call now, 888-439-4244.
Writing a bad check can be a very serious crime with possible jail time, so this is a charge you need to take very seriously. Do not speak to anyone about this charge, because any admission can be used against you. Contact a defense attorney immediately to determine the best way to get out of this charge or minimize the damage. But don’t wait, get help right away or you may lose your best opportunity to get your case dismissed.
If you made a mistake when you wrote a check, don’t beat yourself up. It can happen to anyone. But even if you think you are guilty, that doesn’t mean you don’t deserve a defense and fair treatment under the law. A mistake should not mean harsh punishment, and I can work to protect you from the most serious outcomes.
However, if the mistake wasn’t yours, and it was the bank or the police that were wrong, we need to take action right away to preserve your rights. I will aggressively fight these charges in court and put together the evidence necessary to work for a not guilty verdict or a dismissal. So don’t despair, I can help you with a bad checks charge, whatever the situation is and whatever the facts of the case are.
What is a Bad Checks Criminal Charge?
Similar to the crimes of Stealing and Fraud under Missouri law, writing a bad check (Missouri Revised statutes Section 570.120) is the act of presenting and using a check which you know will not be any good and that you don’t have sufficient funds in your bank to cover the amount issued.
What are the penalties for passing bad checks in Missouri?
Bad Checks is a Class C Felony if the amount of the check is more that $500, or it is a check from a bank or institution where you don’t have a valid account of any kind. In other cases of writing a bad check for under $500, it is a Class A Misdemeanor.
Can I beat a bad checks Charge?
Yes, there are always defenses, the primary one being that it was simply a mistake or an oversight, and you never intended to fraudulently use a check that you knew wasn’t any good.
We can also attempt to get the charges dismissed in exchange for restitution or other compensation to the injured party. If you’ve been arrested for issuing or writing a bad check in Missouri or Kansas, you need an experienced criminal defense lawyer to help you work through the potentially serious legal problems. Call me for a free criminal defense consultation on your case.