Though there is a clear nationwide trend in decriminalization and sentencing reform in state marijuana possession laws, Missouri has not been a participant in any legislative drug charge reforms.
As it stands now, marijuana possession is still prosecuted as a serious misdemeanor criminal offense in Missouri courts. So until the state statutes catch up with the social realities of pot use, getting busted with marijuana will continue to be a serious legal problem in Missouri.
Any criminal charge misdemeanor charge can cause you problems and impact your future in many different ways. A guilty plea can go on your record, and follow you for life, on background checks, and affect future career and education opportunities.
We look for every opportunity to get marijuana charges dropped or removed from your record. If there is a chance to beat a charge and keep your record clean, that almost always make sense.
Penalties for Possession of Marijuana under Missouri Law
- If you are convicted of Marijuana possession in Missouri, it is considered a Class A Misdemeanor if it is less than 35 grams. (more on Class A Misdemeanors)
- This carries a penalty of up to a year in jail and a fine of $1000.
- If you are in possession of more than 35 grams of marijuana, it is a felony, and punishable by up to 7 years in jail, and a $5000 fine.
Can I Beat a Marijuana Possession Charge?
Absolutely. There are a variety of possible defense motions (motion to suppress, illegal search) and legal strategies we can use to fight drug possession charges. The goal is to try to get your charges dismissed, or at least have the charges and penalties reduced.
If you’ve been arrested for possession of marijuana or any other drug, give us a call. We’ll be happy to discuss your case, including the defense strategies that would best apply in your specific case, all in a free consultation. Take advantage of my criminal defense experience to understand your options, at no cost or obligation.
Free Legal Consultation & Case Evaluation
If you’ve been accused of or arrested for Marijuana Possession in Missouri, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. You have nothing to lose by calling. I’ll give you some free advice either way. Call now, 888-439-4244.
For other drug possession charges, refer to my general drug possession page. If you are accused of dealing marijuana, or intent to distribute marijuana, refer to the drug law information on my drug distribution page. (Also see Kansas Marijuana Possession Laws for a charge across the border.)
Missouri Criminal Laws – Excerpt
Marijuana Possession Penalties
- Possession of 35 grams or less of marijuana is a Class A Misdemeanor under Missouri possession laws.
Under Missouri marijuana laws, pot is classified as a Schedule I drug. It is considered to have a “high potential for abuse”, and “no accepted medical use” or “lacks accepted safety for use in treatment under medical supervision” (Missouri Drug Regulations, Ch 195, Section 17).
We handle marijuana possession and other drug and criminal cases throughout the St. Louis metro and Kansas City, MO area, including Cass, Clay, Jackson, Lafayette, and Platte Counties.