© 2013 Get Lawyer Leads, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
If you have been accused of or arrested for Assault in Missouri, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. You have nothing to lose by calling. I’ll give you some free advice either way. Call now, 888-439-4244.
Fight Your Missouri Assault Charge!
Assault charges often result from a fight between two people, and the person who actually gets charged or arrested may not be the person who started the fight. Whatever the circumstances, I can help you fight your assault charge and work to defend you against the most serious penalties. I’ve successfully defended many people by getting charges reduced, dropped, and not guilty verdicts at trial.
Assault is a serious charge under Missouri law that can bring you jail time in many cases. Particularly if you are facing a more serious charge of 1st or 2nd degree assault, aggravated assault, or assault with a dangerous weapon, a strong legal defense is critical.
You can also be charged with assault for almost hitting someone with your car, particularly if you are under the influence of any alcohol or drugs.
If you are accused of a domestic assault, the case can be even more complicated. See my domestic assault page for the differences.
You need a defense lawyer who understands the law and has the right experience in defending against and assault charge. Take advantage of our free consultation to find out if I’m the lawyer who can best protect your rights and freedom.
Missouri Assault Penalties
|First Degree, with Serious Physical Injury||Class A Felony||10-30 years in Prison|
|First Degree||Class B Felony||5-15 years in Prison|
|Second Degree||Class C Felony||5-15 years in Prison|
|Third Degree||Class C Misdemeanor||up to 15 days in jail, $500 fine|
|Third Degree, if 3rd offense or greater||Class A Misdemeanor||up to 1 year in jail, $1000 fine|
Assault Laws in Missouri, defined according to Missouri Statutes
First Degree: A person commits the crime of assault in the first degree if he attempts to kill or knowingly causes or attempts to cause serious physical injury to another person.
Second Degree: A person commits the crime of assault in the second degree if he:
- Attempts to kill or knowingly causes or attempts to cause serious physical injury to another person under the influence of sudden passion arising out of adequate cause; or
- Attempts to cause or knowingly causes physical injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument; or
- Recklessly causes serious physical injury to another person; or
- While in an intoxicated condition or under the influence of controlled substances or drugs, operates a motor vehicle in this state and, when so operating, acts with criminal negligence to cause physical injury to any other person than himself; or
- Recklessly causes physical injury to another person by means of discharge of a firearm.
Third Degree: An Assault is considered third degree if:
- The person attempts to cause or recklessly causes physical injury to another person; or
- With criminal negligence the person causes physical injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon; or
- The person purposely places another person in apprehension of immediate physical injury; or
- The person recklessly engages in conduct which creates a grave risk of death or serious physical injury to another person; or
- The person knowingly causes physical contact with another person knowing the other person will regard the contact as offensive or provocative; or
- The person knowingly causes physical contact with an incapacitated person
Please call for a free consultation on your charges. There’s no risk, and I’ll give you some free advice to help you decide what to do.