If you’ve been accused of or arrested for Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Kansas, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. You have nothing to lose by calling. I’ll give you some free advice either way. Call now, 888-439-4244.
Kansas Hit and Run Laws
Being in a car accident can be traumatic. Even when the injuries are minor, the stress of an accident can be extreme. If the stress of an accident or the fear of trouble caused you to panic and flee the scene, or if you just weren’t thinking clearly, you may be facing criminal hit and run charges. Call me so we can talk about your case and I can explain how I can help someone if your situation fix the problem and keep your record clean.
In Kansas, when you are involved in an auto accident, you are required to exchange information with the other driver. You are required to give them your insurance information, your name, address, and your vehicle registration number. You are also required if needed, and possible, to render aid and assist in getting emergency aid to the scene. What charges you might be facing depend on the specifics of the accident and the damage and any harm it caused.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving only Property Damage – Penalties
If you are involved in an accident that results in damage to a vehicle or other property, you are required by Kansas law to stop and exchange information with the other driver. Failing to do so can get you charged with a Class C misdemeanor which carries a potential sentence of one month in jail and up to $500.
ref: Kansas Laws Accident Involving only Property Damage KSA 8-1603
Leaving the Scene of an Accident Involving Injury or Death – Penalties
If you are involved in an accident and someone is hurt or killed you must stop and assist. If you fail to do so you may be facing very serious charges. Just how serious depends on the injuries sustained in the accident:
|If the accident results in:||Then the potential charge is:|
|Injury||Class A misdemeanor, up to 1 yr in jail and $2,500 in fines|
|Great bodily harm||Level 10 felony, 5-13 months in prison|
|Death||Level 9 felony, 5-17 months in prison|
ref: Kansas Laws Accident Involving Injury or Death KSA 8-1602
If you leave the scene of an accident your driver’s license will be immediately suspended for a period of time to be determined by the judge.
Leaving the scene of an accident can affect your driving privileges and even your insurance rates. Automobile insurance carriers will see a conviction as a sign of irresponsibility and may see you as a high risk after that point. Your insurance rates can increase and you may even be dropped from your company.
Beating a hit and run charge can be a challenge. You have my promise that I will do everything I can to see that you get the best possible results on your day in court. When you are navigating through the court system, you need an attorney you can count on.
I will do my best to ensure you get treated fairly in the Kansas court system. I know the criminal courts, and Kansas traffic law backwards and forwards. I’ve handled countless automotive criminal charges and related issues before, so you can be sure I know what it takes to help you through this, and get the best outcome possible. Call me to discuss your case today.
Fight to keep your driver’s license! Call my Overland Park office at (888) 439-4244.
- Attorney Mark Hagen