If you’ve been accused of or arrested for Assault in Kansas, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. You have nothing to lose by calling. I’ll give you some free advice either way. Call now, 888-439-4244.
Arrested for Assault in Kansas?
Assault or Assault and Battery can be a serious charge where you face possible jail time, even for simple assault. A charge of aggravated assault (assault with a deadly weapon) is a felony charge with mandatory jail time.
Assault offenses in Kansas are considered serious “person felonies”. If you are facing charges like assault, aggravated assault, or battery, you need an experienced attorney’s help. From the moment you are arrested until your case has run its course, you need someone who can look out for your best interests. Call for a consultation on your assault case today and let us help you in this stressful time.
Most assault charges are simply fights were both parties participated to one degree or another. Often the person who talks to the police first and presses charges avoids the arrest and charges in a mutual fight. If this is what happened to you – you got in a fight, and maybe didn’t even start it, or it was mutual, but you were the one charged – you need legal help to tell your side of the story.
It’s important to get a lawyer on the case right away to get into court and get your story on record, and possibly file a counter charge or assault. Please call me right away for your criminal defense consultation on an assault charge in Kansas. I’ll tell you exactly what I can do to help, with no obligation if you don’t choose to hire me.
Kansas Assault Laws & Penalties
Assault (KSA 21-3408)
Assault, commonly called “simple assault” occurs when you intentionally put someone in reasonable fear of “immediate bodily harm”. This means that you don’t even have to touch someone to be found guilty of this assault charge.
Assault is considered a Class C person misdemeanor under Kansas criminal statutes. This means that if you are found guilty of this charge you may face one month in jail and fines up to $500.
Assault on a law enforcement officer is a class A person misdemeanor.
Aggravated Assault (KSA 21-3410)
Aggravated assault is a far more serious offense than simple assault. It is defined by Kansas statute as putting someone in reasonable fear of “immediate bodily harm” while:
- Using a deadly weapon
- Disguised to conceal your identity, or
- With the intent to commit a felony.
Again, no physical contact has to be made for this crime to have occurred.
Aggravated Assault is a severity Level 7 person felony. This means that, if convicted, you could face up to 13 months in prison for your first offense. Even if you have only prior misdemeanor convictions, this sentence could be increased greatly.
Battery (KSA 21-3412)
Unlike assault charges in Kansas, battery charges do involve physical contact. You may be charged with and found guilty of battery if you:
- recklessly or intentionally cause bodily harm to someone, or
- intentionally cause physical contact with another person done in a rude, insulting or angry manner
Battery is a Class B person misdemeanor and carries a potential sentence of up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $1,000.
Aggravated Battery (KSA 21-3414)
A very serious person felony in Kansas, an aggravated battery conviction will likely result in serious prison time. You may be charged and found guilty of aggravated battery if you intentionally or recklessly:
- cause great bodily harm or disfigurement to another person
- cause bodily harm to someone with a deadly weapon
- cause physical contact with someone when done in a rude or insulting manner, with a deadly weapon, where great bodily harm or disfigurement can be inflicted
The classification of aggravated battery depends on the circumstances of the crime. However, if you are charged with this offense you could be facing up to 43 months in prison on a first offense.
Free Consultation on Kansas Assault & Battery Charges
I can help you evaluate the charges against you and give you a good idea of your options and potential sentences. I’ve seen many assault and battery cases in Kansas, so I can anticipate what you are likely to be facing, and how to best protect your rights and freedom in the Kansas Criminal Courts.
Call me today to talk about your case. I’ll be able to help you decide what to do. The sooner the better, especially with more serious charges. If you wait, your options to defend yourself could be significantly reduced. Call me now at my Kansas City area office at (888) 439-4244.
- Attorney Mark Hagen