If you or your child has been accused charged with Minor Alcohol Possession in Kansas, you need an experienced criminal lawyer to help you through it. Take advantage of our free consultation and make an informed decision about how you want to proceed. Call now, 888-439-4244.
Arrested for Minor Alcohol Possession?
I’ll tell you how you can fight these charges, and win. An underage drinking charge, or being a minor in possession of alcohol may not sound like a serious charge, but any criminal conviction can impact one’s future career or educational options. In the age of cheap criminal background checks over the internet, more and more private employers do these kinds of checks. Many professional career opportunities such as the military, government, law enforcement could be hurt by you having a criminal charge on your record. If you are a student, a criminal conviction for possession of alcohol could impact a scholarship or admission.
Penalties For Minor Alcohol Possession
For a first offense minor in possession of alcohol charge, the penalty is:
- Up to 1 month in jail
- $200 minimum fine ($500 if under 18)
- 40 hours of community public service
- Required attendance in an alcohol education program
- suspended driver’s license for 30 days.
For a second offense minor in possession of alcohol charge, in addition to the above penalties, the driver’s license suspension will be for 90 days.
For a third offense, in addition to the above penalties, the driver’s license suspension will be for a 1 year.
Related charges: If you purchase alcohol for a person under the legal drinking age of 21, you are subject to a maximum penalty of 6 months in jail and a $1000 fine.
How to Beat Your Minor Alcohol Charge
I will always argue for a dismissal in these cases. I can challenge the state on an evidentiary basis, depending on the facts that may or may not establish who exactly was in physical possession of the alcohol. I can also make dismissal arguments “in the best interests of justice”, or a sentencing argument if necessary. Many courts are not in favor of branding a kid with a record for a minor mistake. But it really depends on the facts of the case.
I will make sure the court and the judge consider all the facts of the case, as well as the character of the person involved.
Please call me for a free consultation about your case, and I’ll let you know exactly what I can do to help. I’ll offer you the benefit of my experience in how to best proceed with your case to help protect your or your child’s future career opportunities. Call our Kansas City office at (888) 439-4244.
– Attorney Mark Hagen